Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Games and stakes in playgrounds

Games and stakes in playgrounds

Discover our travel around the world


International Women’s day

Posted by Flo et Romain on March 8 2014, 09:44am

Categories: #Advice

It’s a good opportunity for me to talk about an important subject: What are the things to think about when you travel for a long time as a woman?

The first thing I thought about was the birth control pill! Okay, condoms and abstinence are okay…But I prefer the pill J! I have decided to travel with my pills for 18 months. Why? Because it could difficult to find the same molecule and I don’t want to be annoyed by this. I could have decided to put an implant on my arm but for certain women it causes unexpected bleeding…. And IUD? Some gynecologists do it for woman without baby but mine doesn’t (And I don’t want too). That’s why pill is for me the best solution!

Second thing is menstruation… Each month it comes back, again and again… sanitary towels are okay but it prevent to do some activities such as swimming, and they need to be changed often. Sanitary tampons could be the solution but in some countries you cannot find them… and I don’t want to travel with my stock of tampons… I found a better solution: « Luna Cup » (www.lalunacup.com ) It’s a small plastic cup that you change every 12 hours. You wash it and reuse it infinitely. It’s good for environment, you don’t need to seek tampons everywhere…. And you don’t feel it. Even if I don’t want to advertise it, I love it :-)

Another thing about travelling as a girl is the question of going to pee. Men only need a tree, open their zipper fly and it’s done… Well then, ladies, solutions exist: (reusable or one way) urinals which permit you to pee standing… But I cannot speak a lot about it because I never try, and I didn’t buy any…. Just keep in mind that it exists!!!

Something else to note: When travelling in hot and wet countries, women have more frequently urinary infections: the first remedy is to drink a lot of water (capped or disinfected)

At last (but not least, particularly for women travelling alone) : it’s better to wear a wedding ring (even if you’re not married). It can help you avoiding strange and annoying discussions :-)… Romain offered me a wedding ring (even if we are not married) :-)

I hope that these few advices will help you. If you have other questions or things to add please feel free to let comments :-)

Enjoy this special day and don't forget that in some parts of the world women have to fight for their rights!!!

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post

Blog archives

We are social!

Recent posts